# Any way to keep the original user\_updated when I promote version via api?

**URL:** https://community.directus.com/t/any-way-to-keep-the-original-user-updated-when-i-promote-version-via-api/2238
**Category:** Help
**Tags:** api
**Created:** [May 12, 2026, 3:22am UTC](https://community.directus.com/t/any-way-to-keep-the-original-user-updated-when-i-promote-version-via-api/2238 "2026-05-12T03:22:44Z")
**Posts on this page:** 1
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

### Author: ![Norman\_Chan](https://sea2.discourse-cdn.com/flex002/user_avatar/community.directus.com/norman_chan/32/160_2.png) [@Norman\_Chan](https://community.directus.com/u/Norman_Chan)
#### Post date: [May 12, 2026, 3:22am UTC](https://community.directus.com/t/any-way-to-keep-the-original-user-updated-when-i-promote-version-via-api/2238/1 "2026-05-12T03:22:44Z")

</div>

Right now we would promote version via api, and the directus client is using the admin token, so when I promote a version via api would causing the user\_updated change to admin id instead of the original user\_updated, any way I can keep the original user\_updated?
